Blackened Cod

Dear Diary,

I know it’s been a while so I am sorry. I read an article that cod was a milder tasting fish & since you can buy wild caught cod at the grocery store I was looking forward to trying it out. I made sure to get filet type pieces. I am always bummed when I forget to request what I want & we get random end pieces. Just to let you in on a secret, I never post recipes I don’t like & I have had a few failures lately. The cod did not disappoint. If you have made cod before, I would love to hear your thoughts & how you prepared it!

I blackened the cod, added a few extra ingredients & cooked in the skillet. Then cooked in the oven for a few extra minutes (suggestion from a friend). Make sure to use a skillet that is safe to put in the oven. I did check on the fish to see if it looked done after a few minutes in the oven. My husband likes his fish cooked a little longer than mine, hence the varying times listed below in the instructions. Very simple, easy recipe. Life goals in cooking accomplished.

IMG_20150216_150417

Ingredients:

For the Blackened seasoning:

Mix all ingredients below & store remaining in a sealed container.     Ingredients: 1.5 teaspoons paprika, 1 teaspoon dried thyme,  1 teaspoon onion powder, 1 teaspoon garlic powder, 1/2 teaspoon cumin, 1/2 teaspoon oregano,  1/4 teaspoon salt, 1/4 teaspoon black pepper & 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper

Additional ingredients:
2 skinless cod fillets
1/2 tablespoon dried parsley
2 Tablespoons EVOO plus additional to coat skillet
1-2 garlic cloves, peeled and minced
1/2 teaspoon Dijon mustard
2 tablespoons lemon juice
Directions: 
1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees.
2. Spread blackened seasoning on cod.
3. Heat extra virgin olive oil in skillet over medium high heat, place cod fillets in skillet & cook for 4-5 minutes on one side.
4. While they are cooking, mix parsley, EVOO, minced garlic, mustard & lemon juice in a bowl.
5. After 4-5 minutes turn & cook cod fillets on other side. Once on other side, pour mixture over both fillets. Cook for 2-3 minutes.
6. Transfer the skillet to the preheated oven & bake for an additional 3-4 minutes until fish is cooked thoroughly or to desired taste.
Leave a Reply

