LOVE Canvas: Kid Craft for Valentine’s Day

Dear Diary,

One of my goals for 2015 was to make a craft with my kiddos once a month. Lyla crafts at school & the library but that doesn’t count, that’s not with me. Plus, I am not crafty and I could use the practice. Time to tackle all the random kid crafts I have been pinning for years on Pinterest.

With Valentine’s Day right around the corner it was the perfect opportunity for Lyla to make a finger paint LOVE canvas to hang in our house. I had a few of the items & I picked up a few items from Hobby Lobby. I bought a bunch of 2 oz acrylic paints, they were about 85 cents each. Make sure to choose a non-toxic paint. I love this craft because even if you don’t have everything it is a low cost, cute craft.

She said she wanted to hang it in her room so I let her pick colors that matched her room. I was so happy with her selection. I think I have a little artist. She said, “Mommy, let’s do this again!”

Success!

What you need:

  • 8×10 canvas ($3.99 for a pack of two at Hobby Lobby)
  • Paint (any colors or type you want)
  • Duct tape
  • Scissors
  • Paper plate

Instructions:

1. We decided on the word LOVE & I cut the letters using duct tape. I bought the duct tape for $1 from The Dollar Tree. It wasn’t super easy to cut the letters with scissors but I made it work. You just have to play with the tape to make the letters look how you want & place on the canvas.
20150130_154259
2. I used a paper plate & put a small amount of each color paint on the plate. From here, your little one can paint on their canvas using their fingers. I didn’t micromanage her painting, she had fun mixing the colors, covering her canvas & showing me her finger painting skills.
20150130_154601
3. Once your kiddo is done covering the canvas with paint, you can go ahead and peel the tape off. I know some sites say to wait but she was anxious to see it & it worked out fine.
4. Put the canvas up to dry. Once dry, compliment your little one on their masterpiece. Lyla did a beautiful job on hers!
IMG_20150205_182241
Leave a Reply

