Sock it to me!

Two things I didn’t like before I started dating my husband, Nick: country music & salmon. Two things I now love thanks to my husband: country music & salmon. Proof that your tastes in things can change. If it was up to me we would eat salmon once a week in our house.

Typically, when you go to the grocery store you have at least two options, farm raised or wild caught salmon. I prefer wild caught salmon, I think it tastes better than farm raised and I try to stay away from foods which may contain GMOs. The major downfall is wild caught salmon is more expensive. Our grocery store typically has sockeye salmon and that is what I used for this recipe. And always cook your salmon with the skin on so you get all the wonderful nutrients!

If you would like to know more about the differences between farm raised and wild caught salmon the healthy eating guide explains the benefits of eating wild caught over farm raised salmon http://www.thehealthyeatingguide.com/farm-raised-salmon-vs-wild-caught-salmon/

I love Skinny Mom so when I saw the Skinny Sweet and Spicy Salmon recipe I had to try it! I had some minor modifications (listed below) but here is the link to the recipe http://www.skinnymom.com/2012/05/21/skinny-sweet-and-spicy-salmon/

My hubbie & I both loved it! We will definitely be making this again. It was very easy & flavorful. Plus, I am a sauce girl so the more sauce the better. This is not an Advocare challenge friendly recipe so you will have to save this one for later if you are shedding the lbs on Advocare. We served with roasted broccoli – perfect combo. I will share my roasted broccoli in a post very soon!

20150127_174707-1

Hare are my modifications to this awesome Skinny Mom recipe:

Ingredients

  • 2 — 4 oz Sockeye salmon fillets
  • 2 Tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 Tbsp honey
  • 2 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil, divided
  • 1 Tbsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • ⅛ tsp black pepper

Instructions (slightly modified)

  1. In a small bowl, combine honey and 1 Tbsp EVOO  and lightly brush onto each salmon fillet, flesh side up.
  2. In a separate small bowl, combine brown sugar, chili powder, pepper and cumin to make the dry rub. Using your hands, rub mixture onto the flesh sides of the salmon fillets.
  3. Heat a large skillet to medium-high heat. Add remaining 1 Tbsp olive oil. When hot (I always check by placing a bit of water in the skillet & seeing if it sizzles), add salmon fillets skin side down and immediately reduce heat to medium-low.
  4. Pan-sear salmon for 7 minutes, flip and fry for an additional 1-2 minutes (cooking time could vary based on size of fillet). I don’t use a temp reader but can tell by looking at the texture of the salmon if it is ready to eat.

20150127_180121

Leave a Reply

