Advocare 10 Day Cleanse: Day 10

The final day of the cleanse & we are so happy that we both lost weight in a healthy way in such a short time & have increased energy! If my husband can do this, any one can do this cleanse (sorry love but it is true)!

I made a chicken in the slow cooker for dinner on our final day. I found an awesome recipe on The Little Kitchen. Her pictures do this recipe justice, my pictures didn’t turn out as pretty. I definitely need to work on my presentation & photos. Original recipe here: http://www.thelittlekitchen.net/whole-chicken-in-a-slow-cooker/

This recipe is incredibly easy. I made a few modifications so I included the ingredient list & directions below. We had the carrots as a side, sweet potato, salad w/ avocado, kiwi & cucumber (the mixed veggies were for my son). We had a ton of leftovers so I made buffalo chicken lettuce wraps for lunch the following day.

2015-01-26 13.16.08

Please follow my Facebook page or reach out to me with any questions about the cleanse. I would love to be your coach & help you reach your goals. www.facebook.com/diariesofafitmom

Ingredients:

Rub Ingredients:

  • 2 tsp paprika
  • 1 1/2  tsp thyme
  • 1 tsp lemon pepper
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Remaining Ingredients:

  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • small bag of baby carrots
  • 4 celery stalks, cut in thirds
  • 2 garlic cloves, peeled and smashed
  • 1/2 of a lemon sliced
  • 4  lb roasting chicken (mine was a little under 4 lbs)

Directions:

  1. Combine all the rub ingredients in a bowl & set aside.
  2. Clean and prepare the vegetables and place inside the slow cooker.
  3. Rinse chicken with cold water & pat dry with paper towels.
  4. Rub the rub ingredients all over outside of the chicken. Put garlic & lemon inside the chicken.
  5. Place chicken on top of the vegetables. You do not need to add water or broth.
  6. Cover slow cooker and cook chicken on low for around 6-8 hours. Time will vary based on size of chicken and slow cooker. I would check your chicken to make sure it is done, don’t let it dry out as well by overcooking.
  7. Remove chicken and slice. We do not eat the skin so we did not place under the boiler.
Leave a Reply

