Homemade Breakfast Sausage

My family loves breakfast food but some breakfast foods are not good for you. Breakfast sausage is full of unhealthy ingredients, most I can’t even pronounce & it is very easy to make a healthier version at home.

I modified a version I found on allrecipes.com. This version contains less salt, sugar & all those unpronounceable words than the packaged sausage we buy at the store. This is an advocare-friendly recipe & perfect for all our families trying to eat clean as well.

I cooked up 8 patties & we used them on Day 3 & 4 of the Advocare 10 Day Cleanse. My husband crumbled his up & put in his omelet! Perfection!

Ingredients:

1 lb ground turkey (I used organic, but it is not always easy to find)

1 1/2 tsps ground ginger

1 1/2 tsps ground thyme

1 tsp salt (I use sea salt)

2 tsps dried sage

1/2 tsp cayenne pepper

Dash of red pepper flakes

1 1/2 tsps black pepper

Directions:

  1. Mix all ingredients in a bowl & make patties with your mixture. I made 8 nice sized patties.
  2. Spray skillet with nonstick cooking spray. Cook patties in a skillet over medium-high heat until golden brown & no longer pink inside. Based on size, takes 8-10 minutes.

20150115_083326

Modifications made, original recipe here: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Moms-Turkey-Sausage-Patties

Leave a Reply

