My Favorite, Very Best Clean Eating Turkey Chili

This is officially my first blog post! I have been posting on Facebook & Instagram for the last 2 weeks so I am super excited to have this blog up & running. We started the AdvoCare 10 Day Cleanse today so we will be clean eating in this house for a while. One of my favorite recipes to make when it is chilly outside is chili (I had to say that) & this recipe is easy, clean & my kids will even eat it. For the kids, they will eat it over organic whole wheat spaghetti with cheddar cheese on top – yum!

2015-01-14 16.15.44

I have made this recipe without the celery, carrot and peppers and it is still super good. Just make sure you taste it to make sure you are “seasoning it up” enough. Also, if you like your chili with lots of beans, add another can! If you like spicy chili & don’t have kids in the house like me, spice it up with jalapenos or cayenne pepper. This chili is great leftover, we will be having it for Day 3 lunch.

The great thing about chili is you can spice it up, add whatever veggies you like & I don’t think you can go wrong. I would love to hear how you modified & made it your own!

If you are in a hurry in the mornings, I suggest cutting up everything the night before & getting all your ingredients out on the counter to throw in the crockpot in the morning. Huge time saver. Please let me know if you have any questions!

Pics will be posted tomorrow!

My Favorite, Very Best Clean Eating Turkey Chili

1 lb. of ground turkey

1 cup of chicken or vegetable broth

3 stalks of diced celery

A handful of baby carrots diced (we always have these in my house but any carrot will do fine)

1 onion diced

Diced peppers (depends on how much you want in your chili)

1 small can of tomato paste

1 large (28 oz.) can diced tomatoes or fire roasted tomatoes OR 1 can (15 oz.) crushed tomatoes & 1 can (15 oz.) diced tomatoes (no sugar)

1 (15 oz.) can of tomato sauce (no sugar added)

1 can of dark kidney beans

1 can of black beans

1-2 Tbsp Chili powder

1-2 tsp of cumin

1-2 tsp of garlic powder

1-2 tsp of onion powder

Salt & pepper to taste

  1. Cook ground turkey thoroughly, drain & add to crockpot
  2. Cook veggies with the broth until tender typically about 8 minutes. If you are low on time, you can just throw the diced veggies in the crockpot in the morning
  3. Add all ingredients to crockpot & cook on low for 8 hours (more if needed, just keep on lowest setting)
  4. Top with avocado, jalapenos or hot sauce
One thought on “My Favorite, Very Best Clean Eating Turkey Chili

Leave a Reply

